Egg Nog Dinner


The Chemists' Club has held its annual Egg Nog Dinner for the past 121 years. This traditional festivity, believed to be the longest such continuing event, attracts guests from across the chemical based industries as well as others who have an interest in the industry, such as financial analysts and consultants.

The Winthrop-Sears Medal for Entrepreneurial Achievement is presented each year at the Club's annual Egg Nog Dinner, which is held in December at the New York Academy of Sciences. The award was established by The Chemists’ Club in 1970 to recognize individuals who, by their entrepreneurial achievement, have contributed to the vitality of the chemical industry and the betterment of humanity. The medal is named in honor of two of America’s earliest chemical entrepreneurs, John Winthrop, Jr., son of the first Governor of the Massachusetts Bay Colony and considered the first chemist in America, and John Sears, creator of the Massachusetts salt industry.

Corporate sponsors enable the Club to invite college students, both undergraduate and graduate, to attend free of charge. The informal networking gives the students an invaluable opportunity to learn about the industry, and some recruiting has been known to occur.

Past medal winners include:

 Mario Nappa
  Scott Power
  Joel Marcus
  Peter McCausland
  Phillip Sharp
  Herbert Boyer
  Sol Barer 
  Harold Sorgenti
  Leonard Pool
  Gordon Cain
  Robert Gore
  Jon Huntsman