Egg Nog Party



The Club has held the Egg Nog Party for the past 121 years. This traditional festivity, believed to be the longest such continuing event, attracts guests from across the chemical science-based industries as well as other who have an interest in the industry, such as financial analysts and consultants. Corporate sponsors enable the Club to invite college students, both undergraduate and graduate, to attend free of charge. The informal networking gives the students an invaluable opportunity to learn about the industry, and some recruiting has been known to occur.

The Winthrop-Sears Medal for Entrepreneurial Achievement is presented each year at The Chemists’ Club annual Egg Nog Party, which is held in December at the New York Academy of Sciences. The award was established by The Chemists’ Club in 1970 to recognize individuals who, by their entrepreneurial achievement, have contributed to the vitality of the chemical industry and the betterment of humanity. The medal is named in honor of two of America’s earliest chemical entrepreneurs, John Winthrop, Jr., son of the first Governor of the Massachusetts Bay Colony and considered the first chemist in America, and John Sears, creator of the Massachusetts salt industry.

Past medal winners include:

Jon Huntsman,
Robert Gore,
Gordon Cain,
Leonard Pool,
Harold Sorgenti,
Sol Barer,
Herbert Boyer,
Phillip Sharp,
Peter McCausland,
Joel Marcus,
Scott Power,
Mario Nappa

2014 Winthrop Sears Awardee – Scott Power                      2015 Winthrop Sears Awardee - Mario Nappa