Carver-Curie Diversity Award

The Carver-Curie Diversity Award is awarded annually by the Chemists' Club at the IHS Markit Chemical Week Conference.
Created by the Chemists' Club in 2018 at the request of Chemical Week, the Carver-Curie award is awarded for demonstration of diversity in the chemical industry.

First distributed in 2018, the Carver-Curie Diversity award is named after George Washington Carver, a scientist born into slavery in the 1860s, and Marie Curie, a two-time female Nobel Prize winner from Poland—two world-famous chemists whose achievements epitomize the advantages that diversity and inclusion offer the chemical industry and world.

A student art scholar from Cooper Union is commissioned to create the award trophy, to be presented during the Carver-Curie awards ceremony.

Recipient of the Carver-Curie award is selected from the top 100 chemical companies with a billion dollars or more in sales by a wide-ranging global and diverse group of industry chief executives. Evaluation criteria includes: demonstrated commitment to diversity and inclusion; leadership and board diversity; hiring practices; business conduct and standard; networking groups and opportunities to support more diverse and inclusive workforces; public support and commitments to diversity and inclusion. The 30 highest ranked companies are then selected and representatives from each company vote for the 10 top chemical companies triumphing diversity and the awardee is the company most voted for.

Past Carver-Curie Diversity award recipients include; BASF (2020), Dow Chemical (2019), andExxon Mobil (2018).