Egg Nog Gala


The Egg Nog Gala is a yearly Chemists' Club event held in December at the New York Academy of Sciences. The gala serves to bring together students and professionals from across the chemical and chemical engineering industries, as well as others who have an interest in the industries, such as financial analysts and consultants. Corporate sponsors help fund students' admission fees to enable networking and learning opportunities between the two groups, and some recruiting has been known to occur as well.

The Winthrop-Sears Medal is presented at the gala's dinner ceremony each year. The award was established in 1970 by The Chemists’ Club to recognize individuals who, by their entrepreneurial achievement, have contributed to the vitality of the chemical or chemical engineering industry and to the betterment of humanity. The medal is named in honor of two of America’s earliest chemical entrepreneurs, John Winthrop, Jr., largely considered the first chemist in America, and John Sears, creator of the Massachusetts salt industry.



WINTHROP-SEARS MEDAL PAST WINNERS                                                       

William Wulfsohn (Ashland Global Holdings, 2019)
Mario Nappa (Chemours)
John Panichella
Scott Power
Joel Marcus
Peter McCausland (Airgas)
Phillip Sharp
Herbert Boyer
Sol Barer (Celgene)
Harold Sorgenti
Leonard Pool
Gordon Cain
Robert Gore (Gore-Tex)
Jon M. Huntsman (Huntsman Chemical Corporation)



The Chemists' Club president, Dr. Roland Stefandl, awarding the 2019 Winthrop Sears Award to awardee, William A. Wulfsohn, chairman and CEO of Ashland Global Holdings, for entrepreneurial excellence in the chemical industry. Wulfsohn received the medal at the club's 122nd annual Egg Nog Gala, held on December 12, 2019 at the New York Academy of Sciences.