Kavaler Award

The Chemists‘ Club Kavaler Award Gala sponsored by ICIS celebrates the recipient of the Kavaler Award. This award is a revival of the original Kavaler Award presented by Chemical Market Reporter—one of the three publications incorporated into ICIS Chemical Business—for leading chemical CEOs from 1990 to 1999, including Jon Huntsman Sr. (Huntsman), Robert Kennedy (Union Carbide), Frank Popoff (Dow Chemical), and Edgar Woolard (DuPont). The Kavaler award is named in honor of Arthur Kavaler, a probing reporter and former editor-in-chief and publisher of Chemical Market Reporter.

As the only chemical industry honor bestowed by peer vote for a peer of the ICIS annual "Top Forty Industry Power Players," The Kavaler Award recognizes outstanding achievement by a senior executive in the global chemical industry. Voters choose their candidates based on categories such as: newsworthy achievement in profitability/shareholder value, mergers and acquisitions, projects/capital investment, innovation, and environmental, social, governance (ESG). The candidates are not allowed to vote for themselves or a previously elected winner, and the votes are kept fully confidential throughout and subsequent to the completion of the voting process. The Kavaler Award Gala is a black tie event where prominent members of the chemical and chemical reporting industry gather to celebrate the year's award winner. The winner receives a custom designed trophy that is crafted each year by a top student artist from a prestigious NYC school. In 2020, the Kavaler Award Gala was hosted online due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Despite chaos around the world, the annual Kavaler Award persisted and pushed forward, honoring the achievements of the chemical industry through the difficult times.

Additional Kavaler Award Photos